Annual General Meetings 1994

The Fifth Annual General Meeting of MRSI was held held at the Research Centre Imarat, Hyderabad, from February 7 to 9, 1994. The meeting was hosted by the Research Centre, Imarat, with the following Local Organizing Committee:

Shri S.L Acharyulu (Chairman)  Prof. A K Bhatnagar 
Prof. S.V.Suryanarayana
Dr. K V C Rao 
Shri S. Chowdhary  Shri Bapi Saha 
Prof.V.Haribabu  Shri A K Chakraborty 
Dr.V.J.Rao(Convener)  Dr. K P C Gandhi 
Prof.S.P.Kumar  Dr. D Banerjee 
Dr. Y R Mahajan (Co-Convener)  Prof. K S N Murthy 
Shri P V Natarajan  Dr. A P Rao 
Dr. N V Mulay  Dr. S A Khan 
Shri K Rama Rao  Shri V V Rama Rao 
Shri V Aravamudan  Dr. M S Vijayaraghavan 
Prof. M Bhagavantha Rao   

Prof. C N R Rao, Founder President, MRSI made the opening remarks and traced the history of the society since its inception in 1989 and mentioned the tremendous response of the materials science community in India that the society has already received. In his inaugural address, Prof. P Rama Rao, President MRSI stressed the need to develop products for commercialization by quoting the examples of NFTDC, COMPROC and ARC. He emphasized the need to strengthen certain areas as polymers and suggested that a topical symposium on polymers may be organized by the MRSI.